Alone

“But day by day, as I dwelled with my aloneness, my loneliness faded, and my life as
the sole creator of myself began.” ~Richard Bode; Beachcombing At Miramar

The above quote is taken from one of my favorite books, Beachcombing At Miramar; The Quest
For An Authentic Life.  I came upon this book at our little island library shortly after moving here.
The book touched me in such a way, that I had to immediately purchase a copy of my own. Needless
to say, a good portion of it is now highlighted in bright yellow. So many of the quotes and passages
spoke to me, still do.

Image

I embrace my aloneness. I’m often asked, why do I spend so much time alone. I don’t see it so much
as being alone as being present with myself. I’m comfortable in my own company. I try to be out in
nature as much as possible, and when I am, I’m never lonely, instead I’m content. Does that mean
I don’t enjoy hanging out with friends, not at all. A good laugh with some close friends is just as much
needed ‘therapy’ as spending time alone with one’s thoughts. I just happen to be more of a loner, and
very happy to be so.

Image

4 thoughts on “Alone

  1. I’ve never thought about how I feel about being alone a lot. I think I’m conflicted about it. Might have to do a post about this. Adding the book to my Wish List on Amazon. Have you read A Year by the Sea by Joan Anderson by any chance?

    • Morning calen! There was a time I thought there was something wrong with me…..while everyone had best friends and hung out in groups, I was on the sidelines…and if I managed to be included, I still felt a disconnect……….it took me a long time to figure out I liked being alone…….I like living in my own little bubble!!! lol
      And Yes, I have read Joan Anderson’s book…I actually just read her latest “Stretch Marks Essays For The Unfinished Woman” ….. Was a quick read that had me shaking my head Yes, I can relate to that, or laughing out loud!!!

  2. Pingback: The Art of Being Alone? | Impromptu Promptlings

Have something to share....I'd love to hear it!!!

