Blogging 101…Day 11….Make a Prompt Personal

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Shake it Up.”

It took me quite a few ‘Try Anothers’ for me to finally find a Prompt that ‘spoke’ to me.

My 12th Birthday would have been 1975…..That found me moving for the 5th or 6th time. I was always a loner, not one to have many friends because of constant moving around. So there was no party. We had moved to a small lake community, and our rental happened to be situated on a cove. My stepfather (the ‘flavor’ of the moment) gave me my first fishing pole. The marriage may not have lasted, but what he gave me was a love for the outdoors. I took to fishing like a fish to water (pun intended!!) That started my love affair with nature and my love for the water. Every opportunity found me at the lake, fishing like I knew what the hell I was doing. He may have given me the pole, the rest was up to me……I did ok, actually better than ok. I’ve caught my fair share of fish and always bait my own hooks!!

“As a child, one has that magical capacity to move among the many eras of the earth; to see the land as an animal does; to experience the sky from the perspective of a flower or a bee; to feel the earth quiver and breathe beneath us; to know a hundred different smells of mud and listen unselfconsciously to the soughing of the trees.” [Valerie Andrews A Passion for this Earth]

 That was probable the last time I did anything without worrying about getting it right or wrong..I just went with the flow. It was also when I knew I was ‘different’ from other kids. As I said, I was a loner…though it would take me well into my 40’s to embrace and be comfortable with the fact that I didn’t need or want a lot of friends. (oh the things I wish I could tell my 12 year old self).

I think I went over my 10 minutes………………..

4 thoughts on “Blogging 101…Day 11….Make a Prompt Personal

  1. I’ve been pondering that same idea of what I would tell my younger self! I think I would just encourage her really, because all of the angst and tough times have been worth it as far as developing character. Nice post, loved it and all of your photography lately.

Have something to share....I'd love to hear it!!!

