Born To Fly…………….

……..And how do you keep your feet on the ground
When you know, that you were born, you were born to fly”
~Sara Evans ~

I love the feature On This Day on FB……it’s a little walk down memory lane of where I was on this day………..my status on this day 4 years ago was the above lyrics…….which of course got me to thinking of where I was then and if I have, in fact, spread my wings and flown……………………In some ways I have, in other ways I’d say I’m still a fledgling. With my photography, I’ve flown a little. One of my pictures was ‘featured’ in our little Cooperative magazine…another was actually bought and sold as a postcard in our Museum here on the island…………

11924772_10153402469786273_4413487505440562058_n

Here’s my photo of an otter…I just happened to be in the right place at the right time for him to say good morning (#8)

10391380_10153402469741273_4525367401329000878_n

…and here’s my photo on display at the museum. I actually got a paycheck for this one…pretty cool!! :)))))

I’ve lost a few feathers along the way……but know that with loss, there is regrowth…….So, I’ll continue to sing those lyrics…LOUDLY… and will continue to believe. I will continue to spread my wings….and I. Will. Fly!!!

11221632_10153402286611273_6350636082977432532_n

5 thoughts on “Born To Fly…………….

  1. That picture on the postcard is too cool! I love it that the animal kingdom seems to all get along so well (unless they’re hungry! o_O ) I hadn’t heard that song before. I’m afraid I’m an oldies but goodies country/western fan. But I DO have one that speaks to me in the same way: ‘Is There Life Out There” by Reba McEntire.

    Is there life out there
    So much she hasn’t done
    Is there life beyond
    Her family and her home
    She’s done what she should
    Should she do what she dares
    She doesn’t want to leave
    She’s just wonderin
    Is there life out there

    I’m sure you know it. As to four years ago, it’s like you said yesterday or the day before (that’s asking a lot for me to remember THAT far back!), it’s a journey! Baby steps. And we’re all in this together! I like seeing your pictures. You’ve got a good eye. Have you ever seen any of Clare Horan’s work?

    • My taste in music is all over the place…Sara Evans is a country singer (this song is from the year 2000) and I love Reba!!!

      As for my good eye…thank you…sometimes I get lucky and the pic just presents itself…right place right time!!!! I’ve never heard odor her…is she a photographer?!?!

      • Clare is one of the moderators for the Blogging 101 group site that got set up after the January class. She’s just starting to use a camera and she has taken some beautiful pictures. She and her husband Dean live in eastern Australia. They are currently traveling in a motor home all over their country. They’ve arranged places to house sit along the way (there’s actually a site for that — and one in the US, too) so they get to stay in one place for a week or so at a time and it’s cheap. If you’re interested, here’s the address for her trip where her pictures are stored. Her site is slow to come up sometimes. I’m assuming that’s because she has so much on that blog! http://clare-n-dean.com/

      • I asked Clare the other day how she was handling it — i think they’ll be gone for about a year. She said she was a little homesick at first, but she’s loving it now.

Have something to share....I'd love to hear it!!!

