The Sandbox Writing Challenge 3….Stillness

The Sandbox Writing Challenge…Stillness…..What is it that keeps you from being still?

335613_10150410407281273_1716272556_o

 

In the past, remembering the ugliness of my childhood and the toxicity of family relations would constantly pop up in my head, like scenes from a movie…..so hard to turn off. It wasn’t until I made peace with all of it, accepted my past for what it was, forgave (the forgiving was/is for me, not them.) and finally letting it go. Until I could do that, the mental, emotional and spiritual stillness I was searching and craving was never going to happen…….this didn’t happen overnight. It was, and in many ways, still is a work in progress…I’m a work in progress. But, I’ve come a long way………

There was also the guilt factor….the feeling of selfishness, especially in my first marriage, when the kids were younger. As far as the ex was concerned, I was a wife and mother..that was my job…there was no me. The whole idea of me needing or wanting some me-time was positively ludicrous……..

Pain….physical pain, does prevent me from enjoying my meditative stillness I had so recently found….I’m finding new ways (walking meditation for one) to roll with it and make it work….I refuse to let the pain win this one…I’ve worked to hard on the mental stuff to have the physical take it away from me.

…and of course the proverbial monkey mind that likes to come and call whenever I try and be still…..which is why I do use guided meditation a lot of the times…it helps drown out the monkey mind…sometimes!!

All in all, at this point in my life, I can honestly say I have found some stillness…I no longer feel guilty about….and I AM selfish with my stillness and alone time, sometimes to a fault, but I make no apologies for this…as far as I’m concerned, I’ve earned the right to Be STILL…….

21a02aabd694de99ff2f477164697c48

b114a08fca7c56332765734e08db2053

5 thoughts on “The Sandbox Writing Challenge 3….Stillness

  1. I sure think our world has done a great job of making us feel we don’t have a right to time for ourselves. It’s not selfish. If we don’t know how to take care of ourselves, how in the world are we going to take care of others who depend on us? I figure that’s why there are so many people in our world who are just plain out of gas when it comes to life. Especially working moms who come home to kids, dinner, homework, chores, and a hubby who also needs attention. Women are the strongest of the breed, imho, for that very reason! (Plus we give birth to those kiddos!)

    What you said about making peace with your family and past really resonates with me, too. I wasn’t able to do that till after my folks were gone, but it’s made a huge difference since then.

    Great post! Thanks for sharing all that with us. {{{SP}}}

Have something to share....I'd love to hear it!!!

