Getting Out Of My Own Way….The Sandbox Challenge 6

The Sandbox Writing Challenge 6-What Is Holding You Back This week’s challenge is What is holding you back? Now you can interpret that any way you’d like. Is there something you really, really want to do but just can’t quite get up the courage? Somewhere you want to go but haven’t for some reason? You decide how to answer this question…..

8ad1dbb2a786ca1112fcddac34221afb

Lack Of Funds: Seriously, it would be nice to have a revolving bank account to do all the things that I’d like to do or try. Sure, there are ways to be creative, but even then, there’s always a price tag to go along with it……but if I’m going to be brutally honest,,, I do use it as an excuse to not forge ahead………which brings me to the Elephant in the room excuse/reason………

31bd6e04c5692552554bdadcc451d90e

Lack Of Confidence: Somehow I ended up on the Low Self Esteem line instead of the Self-Confidence line. Growing up being told your a disappointment has a way of messing with your psyche……..It took me a long time to learn to like myself and believe in myself……BUT, I still hold myself back. I’m my own worst enemy. In anything that I do, I second guess myself….I see anything I do as second rate……… My photography, for instance. I know I can take a decent picture. When I take one, I think, I got lucky. When someone suggests I should pursue it in a more professional way, I poopoo it, saying there are so many others here who are better than me, there is no way I can compete.  I stand in my own way…………I sell myself short and I get pissed at myself for it. I’ve let the fear of failure stop me from trying things…like painting (though I’ve finally stepped out of my comfort zone and picked up a paint brush) Unleashing My Inner Artist I’m making strides…sure they’re baby steps. BUT,  Hopefully someday I’ll get out of my own way and go at it, whatever IT may be, with GUSTO!!!!

21703c02330bdd9ef53553ace5fd6811

17 thoughts on “Getting Out Of My Own Way….The Sandbox Challenge 6

  1. Pingback: The Sandbox Writing Challenge 6 — What is holding you back? | Impromptu Promptlings

  2. I think fear, whether it’s of failure or being judged or whatever, often holds us back from doing things that are great. At times like those, I just tell myself to do it and don’t think twice about it. It’s sort of the same feeling as when I went bungee jumping for the first time–forced myself to jump off before I could scare myself out of doing it :).

  3. I once had t decide that I wanted my failure to be MINE and that if I failed I should go up in a big ball of flame and light up the night sky (metaphor). Willingness to fail spectacularly can make us more likely to succeed. Just write like you want to write, and learn as you go.

  4. EXACTLY!!! I was inspired to write a letter to Fear and send it packing after listening to Elizabeth Gilbert’s Magic Lessons podcast #9. So much of my life has been wrapped up with worry. What will people think? What if I fail? What if…
    Suddenly What If I Don’t Try? has become the loudest voice in my head. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t have butterflies in my stomach… but I’m hoping they’ll help me jump out of my own way. 🙂

  5. Love the line ‘get out of your own way’ and agree that butterflies can be a good thing – but sky-diving??? ooh, I would definitely be holding myself back from that challenge 😉 Is there any such thing as failing if you at least tried? Most successes are preceded by ‘failures’, essential parts of the journey, without which one would never achieve the end goal.

  6. Pingback: Sandbox Writing Challenge Review 🖋 | Spiritual Dragonfly

Have something to share....I'd love to hear it!!!

