Being Myself ✌️

Walk Barefoot. Dance naked under the moon. Play in the mud. Follow your intuition. Let the fire of life move through you, not just around you. Love deeply. Let the wind toss your hair and the sun touch your bare skin. Live the you that has stayed hidden. Let it go and Be free. (Barefoot Mama)  

Still a work in progress. Probably always will be…But, more and more, the ‘me’ I’ve kept hidden is emerging. I’ve learned when someone questions me, whether it be why do I get tattoos, why am I dressing a certain way, why are you Not wearing a bra (oh yeah, I’ve gotten asked that numerous times! Like it’s anyone’s business) my answer is usually the same…’why not’, then I smile nicely. (Some folks reactions are priceless) That wasn’t always the case. There was a time when I let what others said and thought affect how I viewed myself….the first time I stood up for myself with my why not answer, I was shaking inside, but seeing his reaction I knew I turned a corner. I felt empowered. I made a vow to myself to never give anyone the power to make me feel inferior or question myself again. 

“To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment.”  ~Ralph Waldo Emerson~

I fall short every now and then….old habits do die hard. But I’ll tell you something….I Like Me and now that ‘she’s’ been unleashed, there will be no more tethering her/me.

“A girl should be two things: who and what she wants.” ~Coco Chanel~  

6 thoughts on “Being Myself ✌️

  1. I have that Emerson quote saved in my book, too. You’re right. I think in this last year since I’ve been blogging and I’ve remembered more and more of who I was before I married, I might be headed in that same direction you are.

    (When you mentioned your “power” it made me think of that scripture where Jesus said if someone does something wrong to you, turn the other cheek. I HATE religion, but I think Jesus had it altogether, and he was NOT this meek and mild kind of guy we’re asked to picture in Sunday School. He was a REBEL. If you read that verse in context he’s saying exactly what you said. You turn the other cheek because by doing so you take away that person’s power over you. Not sure why that popped into my head just then… Must be going to be one of those weird kind of days…)

  2. That’s so true 🙂 It’s a hard one to overcome, especially for women/girls. The world we live in always try to make us feel that we have to make ourselves small to fit in, to please others, to be what and how they expect us to be. It’s a big corner to turn in a woman’s life 🙂 well one you! I wrote a post on this a few months back, and somehow and i never felt the courage to publish it… it’s inspiring to read women like you, who are free from all that crap 🙂
    PS: I dont water a bra either and feel much better for it! but because I live in England, no one ever dares asking me about it 😀

Have something to share....I'd love to hear it!!!

