There’s No Place Like Home….Writing 101 Day 3

Today, our assignment was to pick one of six word prompts…..I chose Home.

HOME……

For some, that small, 4-letter word conjures up images of white picket fences, apple pies cooling on the window sill, children playing on a tire swing in the yard. A ‘Leave It To Beaver’ existence. It’s a nice thought, but not reality. At least not mine.

Thinking back, we never had a permanent residence. We moved around, a lot, never staying in one place long enough to plant roots, forge friendships or feel connected. I was a loner. I hated the fact that we never had a true place to call home, that we lived like vagabonds. I wanted to be ‘normal.’ Little did I know or understand at the time, that I never was or would be ‘normal’…..and truth be told, as I grew up, I came to realize I was not like other kids, that my story was mine and not like anyone else’s, and ‘normal’ was and is highly over-rated!

My home, my true home, was inside of me. It was where I could go to be myself. It was where I felt safe. Of course, as a young child/teen I didn’t appreciate or understand at the time that I always was Home.

My journey, both physical and emotionally, has taken me in many different directions over the years. My physical homes have changed many times, from small homes, to big, log cabins to sleeping on a friends floor. But Home, My Real Home, deep inside, is warm…it’s safe…it’s my haven. Of all the definitions of home: a place of refuge is the one that speaks most to me. No matter where in life I end up, I’m always HOME.

My humble, sad beginnings are part of my story. They are part of my Home. I also grew to realize that there was/is gypsy in my heart, my soul. I am a wanderer, a seeker. Clicking those ruby slippers may have worked for Dorothy, but for me,,,,I’d rather go barefoot!!!  My Home travels with me, where ever I go.

So…..for me this little, widely used quote, sums it up……

9cba3425d4daca51bbe0a0345b5d2120

12 thoughts on “There’s No Place Like Home….Writing 101 Day 3

  1. I absolutely love your blog on the word Home. It spoke to me in a very deep way. As a child, I also moved a lot. Like you, I was going to chose the word home for this assignment too and my thoughts were similar. However, I couldn’t seem to find the words. Thank you, for helping me to find a voice for what was in my heart. This was a great read for me!

    • ..and thank you for your kind words Kelly. I’m new to this. I’m slowly finding my voice and getting comfortable with putting my thoughts into words and going public with them, not just hiding them away in my journal. I just read your post on the word Regret and felt every bit of it!!!

  2. This is great. Reminds of lyrics from Phil Collins’ song “We Said Hello Goodbye.”

    Well it really don’t matter much where you are
    Cos home is in your heart
    It’s a feeling that you wake with one day

    I love this song because of these words. Thanks for sharing.

Have something to share....I'd love to hear it!!!

