Places to Go, But No Place I Have To Be ðŸž

Writing 101’s assignment for Day 17 suggests us using a map for a muse.

I WANT OUT OF LABELS. I DON’T WANT MY WHOLE LIFE CRAMMED INTO A SINGLE WORD, OR STORY. I WANT TO FIND SOMETHING ELSE, UNKNOWABLE, SOME PLACE TO BE THAT’S NOT ON THE MAP. A REAL ADVENTURE. A MYSTERY. A BLANK. UNKNOWN. UNDEFINED”(Chuck Palahniuk)  I just love this quote. I use it on my about me page as a sort of introductory. 

At this stage of my life, I don’t want to follow any map. 

Detours have ways of popping up. I’ve found that that interruption in my journey usually happens for a reason, even if said reason hasn’t surfaced yet…detours can turn out to be good for the soul! 

So, what would my so-called map look like?!?!? 

I like this example…….each route is a song. I’ll just belt out my tunes, enjoy the scenery and see where I end up.

  
I hit the road,

Turn on the radio (plug in my ITunes).

I start at Point A

With no Point B in sight.

My heart drives me,

Inner Peace my passenger.

©linda

13 thoughts on “Places to Go, But No Place I Have To Be ðŸž

  1. Saw your post on Writing101 Commons. Oh my goodness I love this idea! Something I have always wanted to do is start driving, continue driving, get on the highway and pick random exits; just to see where I end up. Great post!

    My map post for the day’s assignment is a “Travel Thanksgiving” giving thanks to places that I have traveled to in the past that have left a mark on me. I’d love to hear your feedback!

    https://whistlewhileyouwalk.wordpress.com/2015/11/23/travel-thanksgiving/

  2. This is a map I can live by!!! I love it!
    I actually have a rather huge addiction to maps. If I land on a map, I’m usually there for hours, just following the roads, finding borders, what’s next to where.
    Thanks for Giving!!!
    May your celebration be that which brings you the greatest joy!

Have something to share....I'd love to hear it!!!

