Sandbox Writing Challenge Review 🖋

Ok….Over at The Sandbox Writing Challenge it seems after 16 weeks it’s time for a review……wasn’t expecting that!!!!! This week Ms. Allen wants us to take time to go back and look over the exercises we’ve done and answer these questions:

Did any of your answers surprise you? Why or why not? Ive gone back over my answers, and I guess I’d have to say in some ways I’m surprised, only because as hard as some of the questions were,and knowing by answering as honestly as I could, was going to be equally as hard, I never wavered from answering truthfully from my heart. It’s been a purging, therapeutic 4 months!! 
Was there any one exercise that felt more emotionally “charged” than the others? If so you may want to take a few moments and write a bit more about it. But only write until the “energy” runs out. For me, Challenge #5 I Am Different was by far the most emotionally challenging, yet it was very therapeutic putting it ‘out there’. As a follow up, I actually tracked him down, sorta. I found his picture via his wife. I wasn’t sure how I was going to react when I saw his face after all these years. I was surprised, because there was no hate. I was able to see him for what he is now, an old man. Yes, he hurt me, but I’ve taken my power back, and he has no hold over me anymore. 

As for my mother. I actually got a message from her last week, asking for my married name and address. I held off for 24 hours before replying. I’m curious, though I won’t hold my breath. 

Are there exercises that feel incomplete? Go with your energy. Complete those exercises now. You’ll know they are finished when your energy is spent and the exercise feels  complete. Challenge #6 What Is Holding You Back … I noted how I’ve allowed my lack of confindence in my abilities stop me from pursuing and trying things. Well, on a positive side note, I’ve started pushing past that by writing, me, who didn’t think I could put my own words to my photographs. Next up, getting it all together…I want, no, I’m going to print a book, of my photographs and my own words!!!!!!! No More Holding Back! 

8 thoughts on “Sandbox Writing Challenge Review 🖋

  1. Pingback: The Sandbox Writing Challenge — Review #1 | Impromptu Promptlings

  2. Got a little teary reading this. That you actually looked up “Uncle Donald.” How strong you’ve become! (Have you ever done a piece about your bio dad? I don’t remember.)

    And it dawned on me that 16 weeks ago you might not have been able to respond to your mom quite the same way. You’ve done a LOT of hard inner work in your blog posts. Pretty amazing, girlfriend. {{{Linda}}} And thanks so much for being a part of this challenge.

  3. Did you go back and read each one, or do you remember them all? I had to go back, and found it an interesting experience to see where my head was, when I wrote them. You did a great review! I’m glad you’re finding this a good journey. I am too.

  4. With the exception of the first retreat (all silent for several years) I went to retreat houses on private retreats. I even did a week of silent retreat, one year. After we moved out of NYC, I went to a zen retreat house just outside of Woodstock. That wasn’t silent, but quite a lovely retreat. Then I found the one place where I felt most at home, and with those Of Like Mind, and spent a week over quite many years. I vacillate back and forth between the silent and the community type retreat. I love silent days. Mr Quantum is reticent that I will eventually institute a monthly day of silence for myself lol, and here I thought he got tired of my constant chatter 😀

Have something to share....I'd love to hear it!!!

