Unplug To Reconnect….


  

I need to be connected

At least that’s what I thought.

Afraid of all the ‘news’ I’d miss

Via texts and tweets and blogs.

Who’s doing what on Facebook?

Who’s eating that on Instagram?

Twitter bird keeps chirping

News across the land.

It’s an overload of info,

Is this stuff I/we need to know?

I’m guilty of the sharing

It’s just the way it is,

But sometimes…………

You have to disconnect

To reconnect……

Sometimes you just have to unplug for a while….which is what I did today. Spent the afternoon in front of this…..and enjoyed some disconnection.

  
Temperature was 47 with a slight wind blowing. With the sunshine, it was the perfect setting to sit with the hubster and ‘just be’ for a few hours. I snagged the pic and then shut my phone and IPad off. It was just what the doctor ordered!!!  The occasional shut down can be a good thing!! 

14 thoughts on “Unplug To Reconnect….

  1. Actually I’m beginning to think that it’s essential to well-being… I’ve heard a LOT of folks talking about this lately. I tried to switch stuff into the Reader to read. OML! I felt so totally out of control I nearly had a break down. I put them ALL back to daily and weekly digests this morning!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

  2. Sometimes disconnection is the perfect emotional rescue and just the remedy to recharge. This is a wonderful and insightful post. I like this shut down–but don’t do it too long or I’ll be missing you. A lot! XOXOXO!

  3. Although I really don’t make resolutions, I started out this year doing exactly what you blogged about. Sincerely, seeing this has to some extent motivated me to keep up. It could be really hard disconnecting from what you’re kind of addicted to but the reality check is more real than what’s on media. Thank you for this reminder..Happy new year๐ŸŽ‰

      • It’s quite amazing. I stumbled upon it during a Tai Chi weekend, decades ago. Didn’t know it was going to be a silent weekend, but it had a major impact on me, and I continued to go on private weekend retreats, and finally did a week retreat – 7 days of silence. Ever since then I’ve wanted to do the one day a week silence thing. Q doesn’t get it, and not sure it would work out, but I’d sure enjoy it. ๐Ÿ˜€

Have something to share....I'd love to hear it!!!

