I Feel The Connection….

When I received my email from Photography 101 this morning, and read that today’s assignment was Connect & Tags.. My thoughts immediately told me..you know where to go…………..Though I’m a ‘come here’ and not a ‘Teager’…I feel a Connection to many of those laid to rest here. I’m friends and neighbors of many of their living relatives, their stories shared.

“I have always enjoyed cemeteries. Altars for the living as well as resting places for the dead, they are entryways, I think, to any town or city, the best places to become acquainted with the tastes of the inhabitants, both present and gone.” 

~ Edwidge Danticat, After the Dance: A Walk Through Carnival in Jacmel, Haiti~

  
  

  
And as I walked home…of course I took a photo of our Bridege, which Connects us to the Mainland. Perfect foggy morning for a photo op! 

  
  

26 thoughts on “I Feel The Connection….

  1. So glad you shared the shots from the cemetery. The stones are beautiful. I, too, love to walk in cemeteries, the older the better. They used to be so artistic. The fog shots are lovely too.

  2. These are great! I love the old grave stones. Amazing how they stand up to the weather, being so thin, but they do. Beautiful misty bridge photos too.

    • We moved here in Feb ’07… Of course coming from PA, we were used to snow days and/or 2 hour delays…..a few weeks after moving in, we were at the gas station, and noticed a few teens not in school…heard them talking about the 2- hour delay they had…..so, silly us, asked why, and they proceeded to tell us because of foooog on the mainland….I wish I could relay what it sounded like, because we had to ask the kid 2 more times before we could understand what he said…the ‘teager’ accent took some getting used to!! lol But up,until then, never had or heard of a 2 hour delay for fog!!

  3. Very interesting and the fog so romantic looking, great shots. Our Church “St James” and the Churchyard at the top of our road where I always walk my Dog Daisy through, now has a sign warning of “mugging” how sad. Right across the road from the Church and churchyard is our Police Station, ironic.

  4. I also feel a certain connection to the past and enjoy walking through cemeteries. We don’t have a lot of ornate headstones in Oklahoma, but they are peaceful, just the same

Have something to share....I'd love to hear it!!!

