Heeding The Call of The Sea and Dragonfly

Last week, I was gifted with an amazing week of spending time with my children and grandchildren. I even managed some Soul Strolls and me time along the way….though I enjoyed my time immensley, I could feel the beginning tugs of the sea to my Soul. I knew I needed to get out there…today. Like Now! So off I went.

Wasn’t long before I found the real meaning behind that pull…….I found this poor little guy laying along the shoreline while I was strolling…..I thought he was dead….but he wasn’t!!!! The wind was blowing really hard, so I walked up towards the loblolly pines in hopes of finding a spot I could set him down on so he could dry off….he wouldn’t let go of my finger…….he hitched a ride home on my backpack….I set him down in/on one of my planters…I’m hoping the saltwater wasn’t to much for him….he’s hanging around, though moving……I have no doubts that he has a message for me. Things may be changing very soon for us, and finding him today, of all days, has me believing that everything is going to be ok, and work out the way it’s suppose to.

this is how I found him

My soul,.my spirit,

Is one with the sea.

I could hear the sea’s song,

Beaconing me…..


The feeling was strong…

As I was pulled along.

It seemed my stroll had a purpose,

I wasn’t wrong.

 

I looked down in the sand,

Along the shoreline,

To find my muse…..

My Dragonfly.


Wet wings and waterlogged,

Yet still so alive.

This was the pull,

I now realized.


I picked him up,

Safe from the waves.

My finger, he held tightly,

Our connection was made.



Translucent wings shimmered,

As they dried in the sun.

His mission to find me,

Was finally done.

hitchin’ a ride


No doubt there’s a message

He needs to convey.

With open heart, I will ‘hear’

All he has to say…….

©lindafedroffapril2016

All rights reserved



32 thoughts on “Heeding The Call of The Sea and Dragonfly

  1. That is one exquisite dragonfly! I feel the same as Calen. (S)he chose you to be there for her or his passing. How special! I really love the pictures you got!
    Peace
    Mary

  2. Absolutely beautiful creature and I’m sorry he didn’t make it but you made a connection that was meant to be. I love the “Soul Stroll” as well, has great meaning to me. Blessings to you!

  3. I’d like to share a quote: “When you lose touch with inner stillness, you lose touch with yourself. When you lose touch with yourself, you lose yourself in the world. Your innermost sense of self, of who you are, is inseparable from stillness. This is the I Am that is deeper than name and form.”
    Eckhart Tolle

    • Thank you Anna. It’s good to be home. I miss the kids, but my place is here with Jim.
      My heart broke when I knew the dragonfly wasn’t going to make it…his light went out and his spirit flew, only after touching and gifting me with his presence.

      • I feel like that Linda when we have injured birds in the garden, despite stickers on the windows the fly into them. To feel their little hearts stop I just cry. I bet Jim (may I call him that) missed you like anything.

      • We’ve dealt with our fair share of birds over the years too 😔 yes you may Anna…Jim is extremely happy having me home. He always says we didn’t get married to be apart, but I’ll never come between you and your children,,,he’s a keeper!!! ❤️☺️

  4. I hope finding your totem helped your thinking about upcoming changes in your life or at least reassured you. I always feel as though my totem is a hawk and it seems when I am musing about something and look up and see one I feel somehow reassured that everything will turn out as it should.

    • Most definitely Bernadette. We have a bit of waiting to do, but I feel only positive things are in store for us, regarding the outcome. I have always felt that way in regards to this issue, but the dragonflies appearance only reiterated that feeling! ☺️

Have something to share....I'd love to hear it!!!

