Poetry, Day One: Water

So, I read over at The Daily Post that they are now offering Blogging U. On Demand. No need to register, you can just jump in and participate in any of the ‘courses’ they offer. Soooooo, I decided to give Writing: An Intro To Poetry……First assignment…Water. 

Let’s get started with the essentials: today, write a poem about water. It can be a murky puddle or a glistening lake. Amniotic fluid or your grandfather’s glass of Seltzer. A bath, a hose, or an oasis. It’s time to pay poetic homage to H2O.

Looking for an extra challenge? For today’s poem, experiment with haiku — a short poetic form that works particularly well with nature-themed poetry. Read more about it on our poetry resource page.



Sea Spray on the wind

Intoxicates the senses

Elixir of the sea.

©lindafedroffmay2016


11 thoughts on “Poetry, Day One: Water

  1. Oh very lovely. It evokes all sorts of historical and fantasy images with it. I keep seeing little sea sprites and things that look like fancy bottles of perfume.

    I can’t wait to read more of your intro to poetry course.

  2. That’s gorgeous! I looked at that one this morning, too. I’m guessing it’s pretty much the same as the Poetry 201 beginners class I started. I dropped out halfway through it because I was having major trouble with those “extra” forms it was mentioning. I’ll be curious to see if you like it. In the meantime, THAT is a great haiku!!! Frameable.

  3. Oh, beautiful Linda!
    I’d been thinking of doing the poetry challenge/course as well, when it came around. So, now, it’s just come as you please, begin any time, no structure like the original class?

    • Thank You Fim! I believe that’s how it’s working. I signed up late yesterday afternoon and the first assignment came like 5 minutes after I signed up…..I’m waiting now for Day 2’s assignment….I’m guessing it’s going to come the same time as yesterday’s ?!?!

  4. Pingback: HOME…Haiku Challenge – SOMETIMES

Have something to share....I'd love to hear it!!!

