Back Together…Piece By Piece

WOW! It’s hard to believe, but we’re working on week #43 here in The Sandbox Writing Challenge. This weeks prompt is……

img_1155

WHAT MAKES YOU FEEL,WHOLE?

 

When I read this weeks prompt/challenge, the first thing I thought of and did was pull out my folder of poems…I knew I’d written something a few months ago that I felt I could share here. This is from a January post I did……

…..JOURNEY TOWARDS MY WHOLENESS…..

I’ve been beaten

I’ve been broken

I’ve been down for the count.

But somewhere deep inside of me

I found my strength to shout…


No, this is not the end

By any stretch or means!

A thousand pieces I may be                      

But back together is my certainty.


My scars are healed 

Inside and out. 

Stronger I became..

My light shines bright

My light shines through

Those cracks that still remain….


The cracks are my reminders

Not of how it used to be.

But reminders of how far I’ve come

On this journey towards My destiny.

©lindafedroffjanuary2016


So, to answer the question, “What makes me feel whole?” I’ve been spending a lot of time ‘putting myself back together’ piece by little piece. Each day, as another little piece finds its place, it brings me that much closer to ‘wholeness’. I don’t know if I’ll ever be completely whole, nor do I know if I’d want to be. My cracks have their purpose, in as much as they allow my inner light to shine through, they’re also an exit for any lingering toxicity I still harbor….and let there be no doubt, I’ve made my peace with the shit I had to deal with, but that doesn’t mean I don’t have recurrences or reminders of the pain of the past…I’m only human after all.


Putting the pieces back together



 

12 thoughts on “Back Together…Piece By Piece

  1. Pingback: The Sandbox Challenge #43 — A Whole in One! | Impromptu Promptlings

Have something to share....I'd love to hear it!!!

