What I’ve Learned via The Sandbox Writing Challenge 

Well. We’ve come to the last prompt of The Sandbox Writing Challenge….the final prompt asking…….

WHAT WOULD YOU LIKE TO LEAVE BEHIND?

Lady Calen Put it to us this way………What Would I Like To Leave Behind? What little gems did I find while I was in digging mode?!

What Little Gems Did I Uncover While I Was Digging….

When I embarked on this journey, I had no idea what I would uncover. What I did find was the biggest treasure of all…..I found MYSELF………While digging writing each week, I discovered and unearthed parts of me that I never knew about and or had forgotten about….each week, with each prompt, I became more honest with myself……..

….if one person can gleam a small glimmer of hope through the sharing of my story…if one person can say to themselves, ” I see myself in Linda’s words” …… If one person realizes that just because you’ve been broken, doesn’t mean you can’t put yourself back together., then I feel as though my story has made a small difference……………….

for even though I may never be ‘whole’ again, I embrace my cracks and let my light shine……….

I Embrace My Cracks…They’re My Proof Of My Strength And Survival

I discovered I/we all deserve to be loved for who we are. It’s no fault of our own if those who should love us unconditionally, can’t. That is their own short-coming and only they have ownership of that. I discovered I Am Worthy Of Love and I’ve learned the biggest lesson of all…Self Love Matters!!! So give yourself a huge hug today And everyday!!

((((((((Hugs))))))))

I’ve learned to forgive. I’ve forgiven my abuser, I’ve forgiven my parents, my ex……forgiving doesn’t necessarily mean forgetting, nor does it let those I’ve forgiven off the hook. Forgiving helps to lighten my load. And just as important as it is to forgive others…..I’ve forgiven myself….I know it may sound like a cliche, but forgiving does heal and it does set you free………so no more beating myself up for the incredibly selfish, stupid choices I made in the past…….. Forgive Yourself!

So, what is it I hope to leave behind?! The knowledge that You Matter. That You Are Loved. To not give up on yourself. Your journey is worth taking. Confront the ghosts of the past, give them hell, and then send them packing…….do it for yourself, because you are worth it.

Photo Source: Little Girl Hugs
Photo Source: Nelson Mandela
Photo Source:Quote

22 thoughts on “What I’ve Learned via The Sandbox Writing Challenge 

  1. Reblogged this on Impromptu Promptlings and commented:
    When I stumbled on Roberta Allen’s book, “The Playful Way to Knowing Yourself”, and wondered what it would be like to go through it with a group of friends, I had no idea it would turn into something so healing for myself and for others. What Linda (Spiritual Dragonfly) has to say in this last prompt of the book just blew my mind and confirmed the exercises had great merit. She is officially the poster child for The Sandbox Writing Challenge! She has put SO much work into sorting out her deepest feelings and working on her self-esteem. Thank you, Linda, for being such an inspiration for all of us! {{{Linda}}}}

  2. All I know is that I have read all you put, in your posts Linda, we are both loners we both have past that should be left in the past, but we both know how extremely hard that can be. You are rather an amazing Lady, that has influenced me, I still have some of the past sitting over my shoulder and talking about it has helped. Perhaps most of what I am saying does not make sense but at age 67 I have let the past ruin the majority of my life. Everyday for me is a challenge to let the past go, difficult when I have a member of the past living in my house, but I try every day. As long as I know I have Cheryl and yourself I will keep looking forward. I am happier now than I have ever been, I feel more at Peace, maybe one day I will achieve all you have with finding yourself, yes its true we have to like ourselves first. “Never let the past destroy the present” that little quote sits on my freezer. My sincere thanks Linda.

  3. Pingback: Sandbox Writing Challenge #53 — Legacy | Impromptu Promptlings

  4. Pingback: The Sandbox Writing Challenge…Review #4 | Spiritual Dragonfly

Have something to share....I'd love to hear it!!!

