Life Is A Mystery

Alrighty Now! We’re starting a new book to help us along in our continued effort to dig deeper over at the SANDBOX WRITING CHALLENGE….this go round Lady Calen is prompting us along with the help of Philip Simmons book Learning to Fall: Recording the Blessings of an Imperfect Life…….

Do you perceive life as a problem to be worked out, or a mystery to be experienced? Have you ever encountered something so powerful, befuddling, joyful, or horrible that you can’t figure out WHAT it means? If so, imagine yourself standing on the edge of a cliff puzzling it out. Do you see it as a problem to be solved and back away in fear, confusion, or the belief it can’t really be that great, or do you leap forward into the mystery of it? Let’s talk about problems and mysteries, shall we?

Where in your life have you experienced true mystery?



My Soul Strolls, once filled with comfort,

Are now becoming riddled with restlessness….

Stirrings, like the beat of Dragonfly Wings,

Cause an uncontrollable quiver,

Deep inside of me….

The need for growth, strong.


I ponder the question,

Then speaking it out loud….

I put it ‘out there’ on the wind…

“Is it time for me to go?”

I listen carefully, to the song of the sea..

Waiting, waiting for the whisper of an answer………

…..that answer is ‘out there’……yet it’s a mystery……


I wrote this, this morning, before knowing what this weeks SBC was going to be. I only added the last little line ‘yet it’s a mystery’ after reading what the prompt was…….I think it kinda, sorta ties in with the whole ‘mystery’ thing. 


It’s a mystery to me. Why am I so restless? Why am I feeling the need to go? 

I feel the force of it as if I’d been punched in the stomach…….I don’t see it as something to run from….I welcome it as it makes me feel Alive, but it also brings on huge bouts of frustration. Why frustration?! Because as much as I want to act on it, the realities of real life hold me back…….

With that said, I do see some travel in the very near future to feed the wanderlust of my gypsy soul……….

So, until I can totally unravel the mystery of my gypsy soul, (and quite truthfully, I know that’s NEVER gonna happen, nor do I want it to..life would be boring without the mystery!)…. I’ll continue to walk the beaches of Assateague…waiting and listening for the answers yet to come.


20 thoughts on “Life Is A Mystery

  1. Pingback: Sandbox Writing Challenge #56 — You and Mystery | Impromptu Promptlings

  2. I have heard that the best time to go to the zoo (if one happens to be into that kind of thing) is during the change of seasons because the animals become restless and much more active then. I know there is just the slightest hint of a chill in the air and the very tips of the leaves are beginning to change. Your Gypsy soul could be a pull toward the equinox.

    This is a lovely poem and so interesting that it fits the prompt so well even though you didn’t know the prompt yet. Delightful.

  3. I love this post. Beautiful poem. I understand how you feel. Sometimes I get that restless feeling as well. Thanks for sharing this with all of us!

  4. I am the same way. But now that I am older I like to be home more. Yet two days is my limit! I have to get out and go somewhere or do something different. My daddy always instilled a love of travel in our family. I still love to see new places, but there’s no place like home. Beautiful words that bring beautiful feelings and images to my mind. Thank you!

  5. I have always tried to listen to the whispers in the leaves, the secrets in the calls of seagulls, and the questions in the wind. Something is speaking to your spirit, not in words spoken but in the stirrings inside. So glad you chose to follow! Lovely post, Jo

Have something to share....I'd love to hear it!!!

