Problems…We’ve All Got ‘Em 😖

This weeks installment of the SANDBOX WRITING CHALLENGE has us contemplating and answering the following…….

How do you respond to problems in your life?

Have to admit there have been times I’ve asked myself that very same thing Calvin! 😬


When confronted with a problem

I used to run away

Or close my ‘eyes’ and ignore it,

In hopes it would just go away……


That was then, This is now…

I handle things differently.


When a problem arises

Now, what I do,

Depends upon the degree of problem.

I may take a Soul Stroll

To ponder the issue,

Write it in the sand,

And let it go…….



Other times, I seek counsel 

With someone close to me.

We talk it out,

We work it out

Together we can conquer anything……


Then there are ‘those’ times

When all I can do is shrug…

Sometimes, 

The answer isn’t quite so clear.

In those times, I have found,

The best thing to do, is ‘put it out there’

And wait. 

I’ve learned that if the answer to a problem

Is really hard to come by,,

Then maybe, just maybe, the solution isn’t

Meant to be found at the moment…..

Answers have come and will come,

when they’re meant to,

Not before.


And then there are those times,

When I can’t get a grasp on it,

I’ll sit.

I sit with Grandpa’s Bible in my hand.

I ‘talk’ to him.

I know he listens,

I’ve seen/felt the signs….

Giving them over 

When I’m feeling at a loss

Frees me up and lightens the load….


Problems…they will come

And 

They will go…..

I choose to confront them

In as positive a way as I can…..

Do I stress, do I get anxious?!

Yes,,,,but it’s usually short lived,

Cause worrying doesn’t help nor is it a solution……

I have found worrying only exasperates the problem…….

I  Will continue to wear my Rose-Colored Glasses and keep on keepin’ on, no matter what life throws at me! 😎


Calvin & Hobbes Source

21 thoughts on “Problems…We’ve All Got ‘Em 😖

  1. The rollercoaster year has taught me to take care of the things I can handle, stop worrying about what it is out of my control and have faith that things will work out. I suppose I should be grateful for a hard year

  2. “I’ve learned that if the answer to a problem
    Is really hard to come by,,
    Then maybe, just maybe, the solution isn’t
    Meant to be found at the moment…..”

    Well THAT’S a brand new perspective to me. I would never have thought of that. Great post!

  3. Pingback: Sandbox Writing Challenge #57 —Hm… That could be a problem! | Impromptu Promptlings

  4. I so enjoyed reading the above, especially about your Grandpa and “I talk to him, I know he listens, I’ve seen/felt the signs….” thats the truth and it helps us get through. Facing problems for me has always meant making more problems for myself, but this year I have learned from the courage of others.

Have something to share....I'd love to hear it!!!

