NaJoWriMo Day 1 (January 2017)

I’m going to make an attempt and join my fellow traveler and friend, Lady C over at Impromptu Promptlings , in this latest adventure of hers. I’m hoping I can keep up.

NaJoWriMo Day 1

DESCRIBE THE CREATIVE SIDE


For this your first prompt, describe your creative side. When I refer to creative expression, it can range from doodling in your journal, home decorating, creating a presentation for your job or organization, to singing, painting, or playing a sport.


Write as much as you can about the forms of creative expression that you regularly engage in. Go on to describe the history of your creative expression(s), and how you think your creative side is a part of your personality and outlook on life.


If you absolutely don’t think you have a creative side, write about how you would like to be creative, and what do you think is keeping you from being able to express yourself in creative ways.

_____________________________________________________________

Well, I’ve always wanted to be ‘creative’…I loved to draw when I was a child, and even though I was kinda good at it, I eventually put my pencil down, believing I wasn’t quite good enough…….but I have pulled out the pencils once again, because I may not be a great sketcher, I like doing it….


I’ve always wanted to paint……I’ve had this yearning to tap into my inner Bob Ross ( who incidentally is on Netflix..I’m so happy! 🎨)I’d pick up my paintbrush and then fear would get a grip on me..fear that I wouldn’t get it right or it wouldn’t be good enough. I eventually learned to push the fear aside, realizing I was being my own worst critic…….this was the last painting I did. It was painted the morning of October 14, 2016, the morning that my Jim died. He never got to see it…but then again, I know he has…..he was always my biggest fan and supporter.


My photography has been a creative outlet for me for many years, but it has suffered, along with my new found outlet of writing. The day Jim died, a part of me died with him. I’m finding it hard to pick up my camera, much less write…. (the fact that my living arrangements are in such upheaval hasn’t helped). I know this will pass, just as I know there’s a whole lot of creative activity happening inside of me, waiting to be set free…………Jim took a piece of me with him, but there’s still a lot of me left that needs to be shared…….I randomly selected a past blog… (coincidence?) this is what I wrote…………..


WHERE AM I GOING? 


This journey of mine started years ago,


To find the me I’d lost.


Where to look, I did not know,


But I’d look, no matter the cost.




Because the Me I’d lost mattered.


She deserved to be found.


She deserved to find her voice,


She deserved to stand her ground.




Funny thing, this writing.


It took me to a place.


A place deep inside myself,


A place I knew was safe.




As the words started flowing,


Stronger I became.


This journey was healing,


I would never be the same.




Each new discovery,


Found me stronger then before.


Facing the demons of my past,


I was finally closing the door.




Where will I end up?


I haven’t the faintest clue.


This journey of mine is a process,


And I will see it through………




Through to an end,


I can’t foresee.


But I’m grateful, non the less.


The future lays before me,


As I continue on my quest.


©linda_fedroff_august2016

 


11 thoughts on “NaJoWriMo Day 1 (January 2017)

  1. LOVE it all! Love the cairn! Jim may have taken a part of you with him, but remember, he left a HUGE part of him with YOU. His personality was SO big! Perhaps this outlet is what you need to support you through finding your new retreat house? Love you, hon…

    • I feel it’s time to get back on the horse,,,not quite ready for a full fledge gallop,,more like walk/slow canter… 🏇
      and there’s no doubt he’s left his imprint in my heart and soul..so he’s bound to come pouring out….Love ya back ❤

  2. Hallo Linda – it’s been a long time since I dropped by here and saddened to read of your bereavement. Your painting is so beautifully coloured and very elegant and I love that you’re drawing again too. I was just thinking of you all this morning and missing the sandbox community, tho I never quite kept up well! Then I happened across you in the Reader, I have to remind myself to hit that more often. Anyway, very best wishes, hope everything works out for you.

Have something to share....I'd love to hear it!!!

