Holding On To Dreams ๐Ÿด

This weeks installment ofย The Sandbox Writing Challengeย wants to know What I’m holding on to from my past?! I’ve learned to letย Let Go ย of plenty over the years, this year being a biggie for me. As for what I’m holding on to……one thing that comes to mind is my Childhood Dreamย of horses. Ever since reading Misty Of Chincoteague, I’ve dreamed of having a huge ranch and horses…..or at the very least, visiting the little island in the story and seeing the wild ponies….

 

 

 

 

 

A pony is a childhood dream. A horse is an adulthood treasure. ~Rebecca Carroll~



That dream never left. Sure, real life got in the way, and that dream was pushed way back, to a small hidden place deep inside, waiting for rediscovery. Part of that dream has come true. I did get to visit the island and see the infamous wild ponies…..And now I get to see them everyday, as that visit turned into becoming a permanent resident of this little island. Ponies and living by the beach…It’s the stuff dreams are made of!!!


I don’t own any horses….yet. That part of the dream has yet to happen……..as a little girl, my Dream Horses were The Palomino..

 

 

 

 

To many, the words love, hope and dreams are synonymous with horses. ~Author Unknown~

 

[photo source]

A Buckskin

ย 

[photo source]

A Dapple Gray

ย 

[photo source]

My dream lives on!!!!!

 

 

 

 

 

“All horses deserve, at least once in their lives, to be loved by a little girl.” ~Author Unknown~

 

23 thoughts on “Holding On To Dreams ๐Ÿด

  1. Pingback: The Sandbox Writing Challenge 27 โ€” Can’t Let Go | Impromptu Promptlings

  2. โ€œAll horses deserve, at least once in their lives, to be loved by a little girl.โ€ ~Author Unknown~ I LOVE that quote. Feel the same way about stuffed animals and toys and people. ๐Ÿ˜€ You gave me new insight into that question about holding onto something. I would NEVER have thought of it the way you did. Guess that’s why your glass is always half full and mine is always half empty!!! Gave me plenty to think about! Loved this post!

  3. Oh man! My whole childhood was about horses! I wished on every first star I see tonight, every birthday cake, any chance I got to wish for a horse of my own. Never had one….yet, but I did get to ride a lot. And when I wasn’t riding I actually was a horse, or rode an imaginary one. I read all the Marguerite Henry books. Wow. I still gallop when I run. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I LOVE that you took this in a positive direction! It works so well! And I completely understand about the horses. Who knows maybe Wyoming is in your future, on a big horse ranch! That and Montana are the two places I think of as having the space to make that dream come true.

    On that front, my dream is to be able to see Orcas. I was drawn in, without having seen the movie first, by an advert for “Free Willy” when it first came out, and I had to get that on VHS (then). Three came to me for holiday gifts that year. ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. Did you know there is a healing retreat you can go to where the therapy is in partnership with wild horses? Yes, really!! I saw a video of it just this week. Looks awesome ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Pingback: All KINDS of things to let go of! | Impromptu Promptlings

  7. Palomins were my favorite too!! I love the photos of some of the different horses! I forgot to mention I had a horse statue collection of 30 named horses too when I was younger!! So beautiful!!

Have something to share....I'd love to hear it!!!

